Jepson Fellows for 2011-2012 Announced

The Board of Visitors approved five Jepson Fellowships for the 2011-12 academic year.  Fellows will have a half-time teaching load in each semester of the academic year, and their departments will be provided the funding necessary to hire adjunct teaching replacements.  The new Jepson Fellows are:

Surupa Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and International Affairs (Political Science);

• Jason James, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology (Anthropology);

• Mary Elizabeth Mathews, Associate Professor, Department of Classics, Philosophy, and Religion (Religion);

• Gary N. Richards, Assistant Professor, Department of English, Linguistics, and Communication (English);

•  Jess M. Rigelhaupt, Assistant Professor, Department of History and American Studies (History).

Brief summaries of each Fellow’s project are available here. A generous gift to the University from Alice Andrews Jepson ’64 and Robert Jepson, her husband, enabled the creation of the Jepson Fellows Program.  This initiative is designed to enhance the University’s ability to recruit and retain the highest quality junior faculty members and to support them in their quest for promotion and tenure.  A list of the Fellows awarded from 2003-04 to 2010-11 is also available.

Applicants for the Jepson Fellowship must be at the rank of Assistant Professor or Associate Professor and must have completed at least three years at the University of Mary Washington by the time the Fellowship would begin. Applications were submitted to the Provost’s Office.

The initial review of applications was conducted by an advisory committee established by the University Faculty Council. The advisory group included four members from the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) Faculty Development and Grants Committee joined by one member each from the College of Business (COB) and College of Education (COE).  The group reviewed submitted applications and made recommendations to the Provost.

Serving on the Jepson Fellowship Advisory Group were:

• Karen Anewalt, CAS (Department of Computer Science)

• Rosalyn Cooperman, CAS (Department of Political Science and International Affairs)

• Norah Hooper, COE (Department of Foundations, Leadership, and Special Populations)

• Dave MacEwen, CAS (Department of Psychology)

• Allyson Poska, CAS (Department of History and American Studies)

• Mukesh Srivastava, COB (Department of Accounting and Information Systems)

Leave a Reply