General Faculty Meeting Set for Wednesday, April 24 at 4 p.m.

The University’s annual April General Faculty Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, April 24, 2013 and will be held in Dodd Auditorium in George Washington Hall on the Fredericksburg campus, starting at 4:00 pm.  Along with the traditional motion for endorsement of the candidates for graduation and tributes to our Emeriti and Retiring Faculty, this year’s meeting will feature the announcement of the winner of the first Waple Faculty Professional Achievement Award.

1,311 students are on the list of candidates for graduation.  This includes:

• 495 for the Bachelor of Science degree,

• 425 candidates for the Bachelor of Arts degree,

• 70 for the Bachelor of Professional Studies degree,

• 69 for the Bachelor of Liberal Studies degree,

• 111 for the Master of Education degree,

• 89 for the Master of Business Administration degree,

• 34 for the Master of Science in Elementary Education degree, and

• 18 for the Master of Science in Management Information Systems degree.

The 3 students who receive both the Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Management Information Systems degree are reflected in the counts above.

Four retiring faculty will be accorded the traditional tribute by a colleague.  Those retiring from UMW after many years of dedicated service are: Roy Gratz, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Margaret Mi, Professor of Marketing; Denis Nissim-Sabat, Professor of Psychology, and Larry Penwell, Professor of Management and Psychology.  All were elected to Emeritus status by the Board of Visitors at the Board’s meeting in April.

Following the conclusion of the General Faculty Meeting, a reception will occur in the Dodd Foyer to provide everyone an opportunity to greet these four colleagues who have contributed so much to the University of Mary Washington and to offer them best wishes for the future.

As you are no doubt aware, the new Waple Faculty Award for Professional Achievement was proposed by the faculty last year.  This award is based on the significance/impact of the faculty nominee’s scholarly, creative, and/or professional achievement(s).  All full-time, continuing faculty with at least seven years employment at UMW were eligible.  Achievement(s) had to have been undertaken during the nominee’s years at UMW.

An open call for nominations, and several follow up reminders, produced a very strong slate of candidates.  The University Sabbatical, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee reviewed the nominees and made their recommendation to the Provost.  Presentation of this award at the April General Faculty Meeting will be an annual occurrence. Doug Sanford, Professor of Historic Preservation and Chair of the Sabbaticals, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee, will present the award.

Please join us for the first presentation of this important new award – and greet the winner at the reception after the meeting.

Leave a Reply