General Faculty Meeting Set for Wednesday, April 23

The University’s annual April General Faculty Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, April 23, 2014 and will be held in Klein Theatre in DuPont Hall on the Fredericksburg campus, starting at 4:00 pm.  Along with the traditional motion for endorsement of the candidates for graduation and tributes to our Emeriti and Retiring Faculty, this year’s meeting will feature the announcement of the winner of the Waple Faculty Professional Achievement Award.

1,292 students are on the list of candidates for graduation.  This includes:

 • 506 for the Bachelor of Science degree,

• 461 candidates for the Bachelor of Arts degree,

• 70 for the Bachelor of Liberal Studies degree,

• 28 for the Bachelor of Professional Studies degree,

• 103 for the Master of Education degree,

• 67 for the Master of Business Administration degree,

• 40 for the Master of Science in Elementary Education degree, and

• 17 for the Master of Science in Management Information Systems degree.

(The 4 students who are to receive both the Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Management Information Systems degree are reflected in the counts above.)

Seven retiring faculty will be accorded the traditional tribute by a colleague.  Those retiring from UMW after many years of dedicated service are: David Cain, Distinguished Professor of Religion; Jim Gaines, Professor of French; David Hunt, Professor of Theatre; Michael Killian, Senior Lecturer in Biology; Kathryn Loesser-Casey, Professor of Biology; Donald Rallis, Associate Professor of Geography; and Steve Stageberg, Associate Professor of Economics.  All were elected to Emeriti status by the Board of Visitors at the Board’s meeting on April 10, 2014.

Following the conclusion of the General Faculty Meeting, a reception will occur in the lobby of DuPont Hall to provide everyone an opportunity to greet these colleagues who have contributed so much to the University of Mary Washington and to offer them best wishes for the future.

The Waple Faculty Award for Professional Achievement, awarded for the first time in 2013, was proposed by the faculty during the 2011-12 academic year.  The award is based on the significance/impact of the faculty nominee’s scholarly, creative, and/or professional achievement(s).  All full-time, continuing faculty with at least seven years employment at UMW are eligible.  Achievement(s) had to have been undertaken during the nominee’s years at UMW.

An open call for nominations, and follow up reminders, produced a strong slate of candidates.  The University Sabbatical, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee reviewed the nominees and made their recommendation to the Provost.  Presentation of this award at the April General Faculty Meeting is an annual occurrence.  Please join us for the presentation this year – and greet the winner at the reception after the meeting.

Leave a Reply