General Faculty Meeting Set for Wednesday, April 20

The University’s annual April General Faculty Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, April 20, 2016 and will be held in Dodd Auditorium in George Washington Hall on the Fredericksburg campus, starting at 4:00 pm.  Along with the traditional motion for endorsement of the candidates for graduation and tributes to our Emeriti and Retiring Faculty, this year’s meeting will feature the announcement of the winner of the Waple Faculty Professional Achievement Award.

The list of candidates for graduation was be distributed to you before the meeting. The Faculty Marshal, Porter Blakemore (Department of History and American Studies), will read the traditional motion asking for faculty approval of the list of candidates. A total of 1,221 graduates will be honored at this year’s ceremony. Of particular note is the first awarding of degrees in UMW’s newest degree programs – the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree completion program and the Master of Science in Geospatial Analysis program.

The total breaks down this way:

*515 BS degree candidates
*441 BA degree candidates,
*70 BLS degree candidates,
*18 BSN degree candidates,
*14 BPS degree candidates,
*75 MED degree candidates,
*43 MBA degree candidates
*32 MS in Elementary Education degree candidates,
*7 MS in Geospatial Analysis degree candidates, and
*6 MS in Management Information Systems degree candidates

Following the approval of degree candidates, three retiring faculty will be accorded the traditional tribute by a colleague: Joe DiBella, Distinguished Professor of Art (tribute by Carole Garmon); Jim Goehring, Professor of Religion (by Craig Vasey); and Chris Kilmartin, Professor of Psychology (by Miriam Liss). A fourth retiring colleague, Werner Wieland, Professor of Biology, will be acknowledged by Andrew Dolby. All were elected to Emeriti status by the Board of Visitors at the Board’s meeting in April.

Also on the schedule is a statement of remembrance in honor of JeanAnn Dabb (to be delivered by Joe Dreiss). She was elected to emerita status by the Board of Visitors at the April meeting.

Following the conclusion of the General Faculty Meeting, a reception will occur in the Dodd Auditorium Foyer to provide everyone an opportunity to congratulate our retiring colleagues who have contributed so much to the University of Mary Washington. This will be an opportunity for you to personally offer them best wishes for the future.

The Waple Faculty Award for Professional Achievement, awarded for the first time in 2013, was proposed by the faculty during the 2011-12 academic year.  The award is based on the significance/impact of the faculty nominee’s scholarly, creative, and/or professional achievement(s).  All full-time, continuing faculty with at least seven years employment at UMW are eligible.  Achievement(s) had to have been undertaken during the nominee’s years at UMW.

An open call for nominations, and follow up reminders, produced a strong slate of candidates.  The University Sabbatical, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee reviewed the nominees and made their recommendation to the Provost.  Presentation of this award at the April General Faculty Meeting is an annual occurrence.  The award will be presented by Laura Mentore, Department of Sociology and Anthropology and chair of the University Sabbatical, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee. Please join us for the presentation this year – and greet the winner at the reception after the meeting.


Leave a Reply